UK Visa: What Is the Five Tier System?

The UK immigration law was changed, resulting in the introduction of five tiers, a points-based visa system. The newly developed system wants to make the visa application procedure significantly more efficient and logical. There would be fewer, more easy procedures when over 80 different types of visa application processes. All applicants should submit a passport with a picture, an application, the required fee, biometric information, and any additional tier-specific files under the new system.

Five Tier System

There are many reasons people want to get a visa to enter the United Kingdom. Therefore, the United Kingdom has a well-organized visa system based on the reason of a tourist and different visa types. Below is the breakdown of the five tiers:

Tier One Visa:

It applies to migrants with specific occupational skills or who like to be self-employed in the country. You don’t need a sponsor, but you must show enough money to support yourself. A partner, spouse, and dependent children under the age of 18 might accompany you if they have received the required visas, and you might show proof of your capability to support them. The credibility of this visa is limited to two years. Learn more from one of immigration law firms in London.

Tier Two Visa:

It is applicable to skilled people who have received a job offer. Before submitting your application, you must secure a sponsor and sponsorship accreditation. You should present proof of financial support for yourself and any accompanying dependents. This visa is only valid for three years and one month, or for the period mentioned on your sponsorship certificate plus one month, whichever comes. Learn more about tier 2 visa application at Imperium Chambers.

Tier Three Visa:

It applies to workers with only basic skills who temporarily wish to work in the country. This visa is valid for only twelve months, and the holder must return home at the end of that period. This visa will not permit you to bring any dependents with you.

Tier Four Visa:

It applies to students who want to finish their studies in the United Kingdom. This visa requires a certificate of sponsorship, commonly released by the school that accepts the applicant to a study program. This visa is valid for the specific course of study, and the school will be needed to verify your capability as a student.

Tier Five Visa:

It is planned for youths in the country who are working on short-term specialized projects. Your home country’s government must serve as your sponsor, and you need to show that you have the money to support yourself. This visa is valid for only two years, and you can not bring dependents or spouses with you.

A UK visa is a file that allows people from all over the world to enter, visit, or live permanently in the UK. A visa is generally a stamp in your passport or a document provided by a British consulate or embassy in your home country. Learn more here on how to apply for British citizenship.


This is just a simple rundown of each of the new points-based visa system’s five main tiers. Each main tier has sub-tiers that bring the application’s specific information and requirements. If you are unsure which tier your application belongs in, it is always good to seek advice from a qualified and professional immigration lawyer in the UK. Many government websites and offices can provide visa information, application procedures, and answers to many of today’s most frequently asked questions about UK immigration.